Reviews
RedHandedRejects's Reviews for "The Expendables"
Return to the "The Expendables" fight page
RedHandedRejects has left 8 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"The Expendables" by Sometimes Funny - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hello!

Well this was very good. Shot well, and message is really current. Movies like these really get to me (not in a bad way, like stick in my head) and I enjoyed it a lot.

Well done, I have no problems with it.
-Ethan

Avatar Justin
Replied on August 4th, 2010

Awesome!

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"THE EXPENDABLES" by Skitzo Studios - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey!

Well I though the animation in this was really well done. I'm not sure if you drew and colored everything but if you did, you have a future in art.

I think as a film though, there wasn't much explained. The plot was JUST clear enough for me to vaguely understand what was going on, but I think you could have explained things better. Also, some of the voices sounded a little too young for the film.

Otherwise great job!

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"Anything Is Expendable" by Random Axe Entertainment - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey Alex!

I really liked this. It was SO EERIE! I like that. The ending was touching and everything else came together really. No problems!

-Ethan

Avatar RandomAxe
Replied on August 4th, 2010

Hey Ethan thanks! Glad you thought it was eerie, sorta the feeling I was going for. I need better lighting, I think a night time city alley would have been a better locale but we don't have strong enough lights... yet. Thanks again!

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"Expendable" by Jersey Unleashed Films - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey!

I thought this was shot pretty well. I think the use of credits throughout was really unneeded though. If a film is only going to be what, a minute long, it shouldn't have credits. Otherwise, all commercials would have them.

The story was told very well. I liked that aspect of it. I think the main actress though needs a little improvement. In both the films I've seen her in now, she doesn't give that much emotion. I can tell I'm watching her just doing stuff in front of a camera.

Otherwise, well done!
-Ethan

Avatar Stackhouse
Replied on August 4th, 2010

thanks! and congrats on your win!

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"Expendable" by EvilGenius - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey!

All right, I loved this. The music especially. Do you think you could give me name or send it to me?

I loved the story, and how everything tied together in the end. I didn't really understand some of the interactions with the puppets sometimes though, but I think that's kind of unavoidable.

Really well done!
-Ethan

Avatar Wezi
Replied on August 4th, 2010

Sure, the music is available here - http://incompetech.com/m/c/royalty-free/index.html?keywords=harlequin&Search=Search

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"CL1" by Somewhat Awesome Films - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey!

So I really liked how this was shot. The look of it was great and the blood effects were well done.

I'm not sure on the plot though. I really am clueless what the first and second half have to do with each other. And how the name of the film comes into play.

Otherwise great job!

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"Keep The Change" by GS Productions - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey!

Well first off, I think this was edited together very well. The music went well with what was going on, but I don't think there was a need for the shot where the main character was playing the guitar.

I liked the goofiness of the plot, but I don't think it really went anywhere towards the end. Still a great little video.

-Ethan

Avatar Wezi
Replied on August 4th, 2010

Loved the montage, especially with each of the pennies being lovely and shiny! Thought the idea was great.

Avatar Steelersk36
Replied on August 4th, 2010

Just to answer some of the things brought up in the reviews, which by the way, thank you for taking the time to write them, I'm about to make my rounds reviewing the others.

1. The guitar/hat shot,RedHanded, was both a way to incorporate the guitar and show 'working for small change.' However, I can see where it may add a "music video" element better avoided.

2. The music itself, particularly the "awkward looping area" with the cliff face, is due to the fact that the film was finished and I realized I hadn't used my footage shot lierally on the side of a mountain...it was added in shortly before the due date and I admittedy tried to gloss over the musical inconsistency.

3. The ending-originally the end sequence had dialogue and was 15 seconds plus. Essentailly, the "doubter" pointing out that for weeks for work, the protagonist had gotten very little money, and the protagonist responding by getting a lotto scratch off....hence the last shot, a less than obvious close up of the ticket. Pressed for time I axed the dialogue and tried to use visual clues, but it could have been done better.

Hope I got to everybody so far and thanks so much for the views/comments/critiques!

Cancel
Avatar RedHandedRejects
"Expendable" by Deadhole Productions - Reviewed on August 4th, 2010

Hey!

All right I really liked this. I loved it when he was going through the bag, especially Congo.

I thought the whole film was funny, but I wish you would have made it clear where they were going and what they were doing.

Great job!
-Ethan

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "L.O.L."

by Awesomeness

Genre: Any

GroupVotes
Awesomeness 1

L.O.L.

by Awesomeness

Three wild students break into laughter during an awkward silence.

3,177 views
0 reviews
1 votes

Smack Talk!

""

Avatar
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due November 3
02:00 max

Short Docs 2

Genre: Documentary

Rules: Back by popular demand! Make a short documentary on any subject, this year you get an extra minute!

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Diff'rent Strokes

A golfing instructional video series teamed with bad acting , boring music , and...

Thumb Time Walker

A young punk asks a genie if he can go back in time and teach Adam how to skateb...

Thumb Lost and Found

Two friends who share a special bond are torn apart after one returns and isn't ...