Reviews
Yellowtractor's Reviews for "Muted"
Return to the "Muted" fight page
Yellowtractor has left 32 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted - Sirent Rizard" by TheRecurringMainz - Reviewed on July 13th, 2010

"Sirent Rizard, you broke my reg!" Best line in the piece.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Mute" by Volatile Productions - Reviewed on July 13th, 2010

What I liked: Your pacing, editing, and choice of shots were super! The music was fantastic! The actors have a great presence on camera and while a bit young for the parts, played them convincingly. I like that we don't know what's in the suitcase or how the runner survived that drop. You leave something for the audience to ponder.

What I thought could improve: The tech guy in the bedroom. At first it confused me.

Avatar Volatile Productions
Replied on July 15th, 2010

Thanks! I'm glad we've seemed to pull off the acting despite our ages - as for the drop there was no camera trickery on that last shot, I just landed on the sand and ran. We had some other shots where we see the character landing but I thought if I cut them in it loses the same impact as having the reveal of that one long final shot. I geuss the way we shot it made the drop look higher than it was - it was only about 11ft I think.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"A Mission Of..." by Random Axe Entertainment - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Just a great little film. Love the score with it. Good stunt on the skateboard fall! Great angle on the guy laying by the tracks. Kudos to the little boy. Not bad for someone so young, and the final scene is great.

Blooper- ehhh, that library isn't that way! ha!

Avatar RandomAxe
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Hey there! Thanks very much, I'm glad you liked it. The skateboard thing was actually a pain to get, but it turned out.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Extinguish" by 17th Letter Films - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

A tale of lost hopes and broken dreams. Art films always run the risk of not being understood but you're brave to try it. Some nice angles in your shots.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted" by Robotic Willy - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

I liked best his paranoia when a pickup truck drives past. A suggestion might be to have created the set to reflect having gone through a massive quake...like the TV on it's side or something. That's just monday morning directing there.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted" by Red Handed Rejects Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Cute guy meets cute girl and love conquers all! Nice story. The "stay out of the way" scene seemed a tad weak, but overall this was a good little film.

Avatar RedHandedRejects
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Thanks so much! I appreciate the feedback!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Mute Love Triangle" by Spencer Strauss - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

So...that's Maggie Simpson all grown up, eh? Liked one of the later right crosses with reaction.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Who Wields the Staff" by EvilGenius - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Animation is so tough! Inanimate cardboard box man rules!
Have you considered multi tracking with arms and legs on separate tracks? If you don't have multi track capabilites in your editing program, I encourage you to also take a peek on youtube at a channel called "Offplanetfilms". He does a lot of animation in REAL time. I think he might inspire you.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"MUTED " by Jersey Unleashed Films - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

I really liked the glimpses and implied violence...under the car, the skull cracking off camera. The music was chilling. A kind of a let down ending.

Avatar Stackhouse
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Thanks! Thats not the original way it was supposed to end, somehow the last minute of footage I had got corrupted? It was so irritating!!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted: 1 in 10000" by Somewhat Awesome Films - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Ok, I'm tired after watching this. You wore me out! We went everywhere...pharmacy, swimming pool. I didn't get what was causing them to jump and now I'm too tired to worry about it!

Avatar Jarradcody
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Thats a shame, this was not intended to bore or tire the viewer. Exact opposite actually, we wanted to do a ridiculous comedy action mix (obviously) :) The opening shot would have told you all about the 'teleporting,' but it is subtle i know. Well not for you this time but thanks for the review anyway.

Avatar rebel181
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Hi Yellowtractor! Hmmmmm So you're tired?
Thanks for the review? Much appreciated :)

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Silent Justice" by Manasewitsch - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Unique concept. A silent lawyer. Obviously a "fantasy" piece! ha! Your use of high and low angle between judge and the lawyers was good but the set needed a bit more dressing. An older judge would have looked better I think.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Look Up" by Fat Llama Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Nice contrast jumping between the music beds. A shame it was copyrighted. Kudos to the guy who did the fall in the street. OW!

Avatar thewot
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Thanks for the feedback! Oh, the fall stopped hurting after the 2nd take :P

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Talk Darnit! " by Spielberg aint' got nothinONTHIS - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

What a twisted friend! While I think we over use guns in the fights, this sequence was very realistic, especially the secondary shots, reaction and effects. Sam Peckinpah would be proud.

Avatar Arodthedirectorguy!
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Thank you Yellowtractor for the comment!! it means alot and yes i must stay a distance from guns sometimes XD thank you!!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted" by WhatTheFiddlesticks - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

A good set up, tragic. Good writiing and acting with the father/ son relationship. I would have ditched the wig "father" wore to be the doctor and would have disguised him with a surgical mask instead. The wig was comedic and distracting.

Avatar WhatTheFiddlesticks
Replied on July 15th, 2010

Thankyou for all your comliments but we don't have a surgical mask so the wig was the only way to go.
But thanks.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Men Who Stare At Flies" by Yodertrey Films - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

I enjoyed the film trailer parody. Fly guts....ewwwww! I don't even want to know what you used! This was silly and fun.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Jinx" by Krust Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Man....had he not spoke! Ooops! Great sfx to tell what he did and get around the obvious problem there!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted " by IDK Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Great music! I think it would have been stronger to cut the going to person to person near the end, esp. when it's the same guy. You used costume to help, but I was on to that right away. Nice concept.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Words of a Feather" by Bubbaju Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

This is what I imagine being paranoid and on LSD would be like....and I mean that in a good way!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Reduce Carbon Footprint" by Film Fights- Saving Environment - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Alright, lady, pull it over there. You have a mess of people with no seat belts on and several standing in the back of the truck. License and registration please! ha!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"POV: A search for food" by frazzle dazzle videos - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

This started out great, but the outside walk was just too long. Foley is so hard sometimes. Actually recording some fists in grass might have worked better. Still, we both thought " Dog Picture!" Arf Arf!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"The Pain Of Silence" by Pondworld - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Some interesting camera effects I liked in here like the girl going from the road to the hill. A lot of effort on this one....costumes, props, special effects.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"The Droid" by Kuli Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

I liked the music bed on this one.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Hey Mister" by Factory 4 - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

A darker room would have looked more like a bar and less like a dining room. Annoying boy should have a glass, not a plastic glass, and if he is to drink, then he should really drink. Kudos to glasses man...the drink order looked casual and natural. I would have finished with glasses man putting a right hook on Annoying boy and then continue to drink his drink cooly. Hindsight is always 20-20 though!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted" by BrokenGlassFilms - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Copyrighted music. It really hurt this piece. Loved the bullies...they could have been a bit meaner, but had that pack mentality. Nice ad-libs.

Avatar GumBa11Machine
Replied on July 14th, 2010

Yeah, we didn't have time to write a good script so we just let our actors go. Don't really know how I could of made them any meaner....they were kinda mean already, Thanks for watching.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"GREED!" by WolfShadow Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Copyright music hurt you. It's obvious that's a closet! Still a unique concept and playing both roles worked! He'd raise some cain, if he were able...yuk, yuk, yuk.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"The Fishing Accident" by asher's productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

No doubt we'll see more phone movies in the future. The do allow for unusal angles and camera moves by virtue of their size and weight. They are also good for getting that covert footage such as hospital interiors, right? heh heh.

So...now the football coach is going to operate? Yikes!
I found the narrow frames unique, but it was almost as if watching this through a keyhole. A pioneer!

Avatar ashersproductions
Replied on July 14th, 2010

the narrow frame happened cause i filmed it right side up when in the hospital hallway i filmed it sideways which gave it widescreen which i did not knw untill then. and thanks for the review!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Silent But Deadly" by Yoga Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

The Spanish speaking Swedish woman must be the granddaughter of Mrs. Olson, who sold Columbian coffee for years on TV! Loved the crouched in the ceiling shot.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"A Man and His Music" by OFCM Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

A unique concept and it took some time to write this and dig up all the tunes you'd need. It's a shame it's all copyrighted material. It was still a good idea.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted" by Ring a Bell Productions - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

You made a good choice to shoot this in B&W. There is a place where the mime is talking and someone moves behind camera and creates this great shadow effect on his face. Keep that noir effect in your mind in the future.

Avatar The Dave
Replied on July 15th, 2010

The shadow effect was an on the fly (hmm this might look cool kind of thing). Thanks for the input, and I'm glad you enjoyed the film.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Muted" by Channel 27 Studios - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

Ooopsy, yep I saw the cameraman in the mirror! When shooting in real time with the auto focus on, you're going to experience in and out of focus shots as the camera constantly tries to correct itself. A good effort. Keep making movies!

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"Quiet Please" by AboveMoon Studios - Reviewed on July 14th, 2010

A good set up for a muted character! The librarian from hell! Ooops, she's at the start of the book, she's near the end of the book...now she's back near the front again.

Cancel
Avatar Yellowtractor
"The Silent Treatment" by Deadhole Productions - Reviewed on July 19th, 2010

Man, all it needed was a finish! Great idea. I liked the guy knocking the clipboard out of his hand...sneaky!

Avatar DeadholeProductions
Replied on July 19th, 2010

Thanks, I was really trying to drive the point that he would do anything to get him to talk. As for the Ending, it's my mistake. There is an end, I just didn't realize the last 2 seconds were cut off until AFTER I submitted.

Thanks again for the review!

The Director's cut (4 1/2 min) is up on my up on my YouTube account if anyone would like to see the complete story: http://www.youtube.com/user/DeadholeProductions

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "Who"

by Stearns Pictures

Genre: Any

GroupVotes
Stearns Pictures33
Radnaut16

Who

by Stearns Pictures

The Don sends out his right hand man to get some answers.

8,662 views
2 reviews
33 votes

Smack Talk!

""

Avatar
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due September 8
00:17 max

"The Room" Haiku

Genre: Haiku

Rules: Actor must say"You're tearing me apart Lisa!" like Tommy Wiseau. A video haiku is a 3 shot film. 1st shot is 5 sec, next shot is 7 sec, final shot is 5 seconds. SEE EXAMPLES HERE: http://bit.ly/s34Fmc

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Never There

Shoot First Atlanta\'s lipdub video for the song \"Never There\" by Cake.

Thumb Exposed

King of Filmfights, David Lehre Four Trick! haha just kidding. I really appr...

Thumb Under Pressure

There's a lesson to be learned when a young man is torn between keeping secrets ...