Reviews
rnbrewer's Reviews for "Valentine's Day Haiku"
Return to the "Valentine's Day Haiku" fight page
rnbrewer has left 10 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar rnbrewer
"Surprise Valentine" by Zone 4 Productions - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I was actually really worried about the last shot. I think it may be the reason we made Middleweight this time around. I think it ended up that way because of the original placement of the actors in the first two shots. It would have been jarring for the viewer to have them suddenly be closer together and further away from their original mark. Like you said though, the lighting was what made it hard. I wanted it to be consistent but I didn't realize how bright the window was until I was editing the footage. Oh well. Now we know for next time.

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Valentine's Day Haiku" by Tomikazee Productions - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

The tone is great and I love the shots. I have to agree with Justin though, I was kinda hoping for some voice over or something to help spice it up a bit. However, the addition of the hot girl in the video made it a little easier to swallow.

Now comes the part that I'm a little confused on. Call me crazy, and maybe I'm just not seeing it right, but I could have swore there were actually 4 shots in this video. Before anyone jumps me about this, let me explain: there's the opening shot of him sitting on the couch and getting a txt message which then pans up into the second shot which is the hot girl fantasy, then, without panning we get a flash cut to him sitting on the same couch in front of the same window smiling about his fantasy which then match cuts to him sitting on a different couch and frowning later at night. Again, I could very well be wrong about this and if I am I apologize in advance, but it does seem like 4 distinctly different shots rather than 3.

If it weren't for that I would give it an "A+". Otherwise I gotta give it an "A-". It's a good movie. Great movie in fact, but I'm just not sure about the whole shot thing.

Avatar GhastlyMrC
Replied on February 22nd, 2012

Hey thanks for the review. You are right in that there are technically four shots, but in terms of the third and fourth shots, we matched them up so they would essentially be 'the same shot', and both add up to the time limit required.
You could say it's bending the rules a bit, I guess, but we felt it was needed to sell the gag. Originally it was going to cut from the girl in the fantasy to her crying on the settee, but that seemed to sudden and the real humour would come from his reaction.
Hope this explains a bit of the thought process behind it. Thanks for the 'A-' rating!

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"I Love Surprises!" by -Xzkape Productions - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I actually let out a hardy chuckle at the end of this one which isn't something I normally do. Kudos for making chuckle in a hardy fashion.

I loved the monochrome and the way you made the decorations stick out. Great editing there. The shots seemed a little stale though. Not much. Just enough for me to notice. Thankfully it wasn't distracting.

A zoom or dolly out on the last shot definitely could have added some flavor to the overall tone of the piece but I still got the humor even without it. All together I think this was a good, solid effort and is well deserving of an "A+". Good job and keep em coming.

Avatar Xzkape
Replied on February 22nd, 2012

Thanks! If I can get people to laugh its worth it all. Agree with more movement. Promise more in the next fight.

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Blood & Roses" by The Bohemian Brothers - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I've come to the conclusion that it is the addition of the credits that hurt some of the videos as it extends the run time past the 17 second mark. Other than that I thought this was a pretty solid take on the haiku. The gun looked a little on the fake side, but it all made sense to me. "A-"

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Valentine Date" by SlugShellProductions - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I gotta agree with HorribleHorror, the joke kinda fizzles at the end. I get what you were going for and I actually did think the "cham-pag-en" line was kinda funny. "C-"

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Secret Admirer " by Cinema Anathema - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I can see how getting a secret valentine from someone and then finding out it was actually your mother would be annoying. I would be disappointed to get one too. I liked this haiku. The shots weren't anything spectacular (but then again, neither were mine). All in all I give this one a solid "A".

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Still Alone" by Horrible Horror - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I really liked this one. It was simple yet easy to understand. I think my only real gripe would have to be the sound... er... or lack of sound. It was just too quiet for me. I felt like I needed someone talking or some kind of music playing in the background.

Normally I would probably have given this one an "A-" but since you had a kick ass Army of Darkness poster in the background I'll bump it up to a solid "A" :)

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Cupid's Hit List" by Travis Bailey Films - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

This is a really dark haiku... and I like it! The second shot seemed like it was kinda choppy though, as if you spliced together various takes of the same shot. I don't know, maybe it's just my eyes playing tricks on me.

I thought the tiny bow was funny and I wasn't expecting the gun to pop up so you definitely pulled off the element of surprise. All together I give this one a solid "A".

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"A Basket Short" by Avenge the Canary Cat's Mother - Reviewed on February 22nd, 2012

I loved this!! I laughed my *ahem* ass off when I saw the ending. I noticed the pants -- or lack thereof -- right away. Seriously, this should be a Heavyweight. Then again, I didn't look at the timing so maybe that's why you got bumped down. Don't know.

I gotta tell ya, if it weren't for the fact that we're competing for the same weight class I would totally vote for this. However, I will happily and with great pleasure slap a good ol' "A+" on this one. Hell I'll even give it a "Resident Evil Finish" "S Class" rank.

Avatar Xzkape
Replied on February 22nd, 2012

I was wondering why this wasn't a HW too

Avatar danbob18
Replied on February 23rd, 2012

haha thanks man. Although i have to say I dont know what "s class" rank is. I played resident a bit but if I remember right I stopped cause it was too scary for me.

Cancel
Avatar rnbrewer
"Valentine's Day Haiku" by Tomikazee Productions - Reviewed on February 24th, 2012

Sorry about that, Ghastly. I just wasn't sure what to think of it. It is funny though and you're right; without it the shot just wouldn't have worked. I got no problem with it, I just wanted to make sure I was seeing what I was seeing. As long as everyone else is cool with it I'll gladly bump it up to an "A+". Again, great film. :)

Avatar GhastlyMrC
Replied on February 24th, 2012

No need to apologise at all. Just got a keen eye for detail! Thanks again!

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "L.O.L."

by Awesomeness

Genre: Any

GroupVotes
Awesomeness 1

L.O.L.

by Awesomeness

Three wild students break into laughter during an awkward silence.

4,124 views
0 reviews
1 votes

Smack Talk!

""

Avatar
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due November 3
02:00 max

Short Docs 2

Genre: Documentary

Rules: Back by popular demand! Make a short documentary on any subject, this year you get an extra minute!

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Bruce Willis Christmas Miracle

Donald Johnson (Bruce Willis) pays a set of nasty terrorist elves a visit after ...

Thumb Turnaround

He's 24 years old and looking for a PARTY!

Thumb Confederate Cop 2

In this highly anticipated, action-packed film, Brett Welter returns to the scre...