HorribleHorror's Reviews for "Valentine's Day Haiku"
Return to the "Valentine's Day Haiku" fight page
HorribleHorror has left 11 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar HorribleHorror
"I Love Surprises!" by -Xzkape Productions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Very nice. I especially liked the monochrome / red hearts effect here. I gotta admit, I am confused as for the implication though: is this "I love myself too damn much" or "I wish I had someone to do this for?" It seems to be the former, but it leaves me unsure. Then again, that may have been the point.

Avatar HorribleHorror
"Valentine's Day Haiku" by Tomikazee Productions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

The transition between the second and third shot is brilliant. It's really a classic joke, but goddamn did it work, and it was that one transition alone that sold it. Great effect in the imagination spot too.

Avatar GhastlyMrC
Replied on February 20th, 2012

Thanks a lot man, really appreciate it. It was originally planned to be something completely different, transition wise, but glad we went the route we did. Thanks again

Avatar HorribleHorror
"Surprise Valentine" by Zone 4 Productions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

HAH. Okay, that was pretty good. Punchline without any dialogue. Nice job.
If any nitpicking is to be made, the frame feels very empty in the third shot, as a result of, well, the huge window between the two actors, but I am guessing the lighting made this necessary?

Avatar HorribleHorror
"Valentine Date" by SlugShellProductions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Funny idea, but unfortunately, the joke kind of falls flat - especially since the audio is very low and mumbled. Was the "Cham-pag-en" pronounciation intentional (a nod to Futurama, maybe)?

Avatar HorribleHorror
"Secret Admirer " by Cinema Anathema - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Pretty nice to see some movement in the first and second shot. It would probably have worked better if the punchline had been more "sudden" though. Still, I liked the shots themselves.

Avatar HorribleHorror
"Cupid's Hit List" by Travis Bailey Films - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Nice concept, I really like the idea of Cupid having a "hit list", but it seems like that isn't used enough. I did love the tiny bow and arrow though - I realize it's difficult to do too much practical effects-wise with such short time, but wouldn't it have been funnier if he got hit by an arrow himself - a real one?

Avatar HorribleHorror
"A Basket Short" by Avenge the Canary Cat's Mother - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Funny to see TWO entries using the "monochrome except red" thing. The sulk at the end is great, but the video gives a bit of a mood whiplash. The first two shots are still sort of amusing in an "aw, buddy, try again" way, and then it's just "Well... crap." But hey, nice one all the same!

Avatar HorribleHorror
"" by BeastModeproductions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

It'd be easier to get the joke if we could actually get a better look at what that letter says - but it's a little hard to see, and thus the joke is lost. Maybe try a marker rather than pencil. Otherwise, its nice to see the "Valentines Card from Hell" idea.

Avatar HorribleHorror
"VDH: Secret Admirer " by JustRyce - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Hah, not a bad idea really - but what was with the random stuff at the end? Removing that and having the middle shot actually be 7 seconds long rather than 5 could've made the difference between light and middleweight here, I feel.
Props to whoever played the creep - his eyes are very expressive in that last shot!

Avatar HorribleHorror
"Crappy Valentines Day" by AllYouCanStomach - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Theres nothing wrong with a poem reading for a Valentine's haiku - actually, I think that was a good idea. But we can barely hear him say anything at all, and the three shoots seem to really just be one long one with some quick edits. Some differing angles, better sound and a more fitting location would've made a world of difference. Still, cool that you're the only ones who tried for the poem thing.

Avatar HorribleHorror
"A Basket Short" by Avenge the Canary Cat's Mother - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Wait. Pants?

Well, now I feel like an idiot, I somehow missed that completely!

Last Fight's Winner
Video "Dig The Evil Dead"

by The Phantom Monk

Genre: Horror

The Phantom Monk15
First Timer5

Dig The Evil Dead

by The Phantom Monk

Monk Vs the Evil Dead!!!

2 reviews
15 votes

Smack Talk!

"A huge thank you to everyone who voted, this win got me the number one spot on the Film Fighters page, Woohoo!!! This is a dream come true, thanks so much you're all awesome!"

Avatar ThePhantomMonk
Next Months' Fight
Due November 30
10:00 max

BIG LEAGUE: Great Stories

Genre: Any

Rules: For the first time ever, Film Fights is looking for a 10 minute film from you! Tell the long-form story you've always wanted to tell.

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Naughty Cops

A movie about 2 cops who keep the town full of sexy people.

Thumb Fall From Grace

Sometimes the cause of a person's downfall is not their most obvious flaw, but a...

Thumb Gay Detective

The Gay Detective tries to find the mysterious killer who is murdering the citiz...