Reviews
HorribleHorror's Reviews for "Valentine's Day Haiku"
Return to the "Valentine's Day Haiku" fight page
HorribleHorror has left 11 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar HorribleHorror
"I Love Surprises!" by -Xzkape Productions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Very nice. I especially liked the monochrome / red hearts effect here. I gotta admit, I am confused as for the implication though: is this "I love myself too damn much" or "I wish I had someone to do this for?" It seems to be the former, but it leaves me unsure. Then again, that may have been the point.

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"Valentine's Day Haiku" by Tomikazee Productions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

The transition between the second and third shot is brilliant. It's really a classic joke, but goddamn did it work, and it was that one transition alone that sold it. Great effect in the imagination spot too.

Avatar GhastlyMrC
Replied on February 20th, 2012

Thanks a lot man, really appreciate it. It was originally planned to be something completely different, transition wise, but glad we went the route we did. Thanks again

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"Surprise Valentine" by Zone 4 Productions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

HAH. Okay, that was pretty good. Punchline without any dialogue. Nice job.
If any nitpicking is to be made, the frame feels very empty in the third shot, as a result of, well, the huge window between the two actors, but I am guessing the lighting made this necessary?

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"Valentine Date" by SlugShellProductions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Funny idea, but unfortunately, the joke kind of falls flat - especially since the audio is very low and mumbled. Was the "Cham-pag-en" pronounciation intentional (a nod to Futurama, maybe)?

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"Secret Admirer " by Cinema Anathema - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Pretty nice to see some movement in the first and second shot. It would probably have worked better if the punchline had been more "sudden" though. Still, I liked the shots themselves.

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"Cupid's Hit List" by Travis Bailey Films - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Nice concept, I really like the idea of Cupid having a "hit list", but it seems like that isn't used enough. I did love the tiny bow and arrow though - I realize it's difficult to do too much practical effects-wise with such short time, but wouldn't it have been funnier if he got hit by an arrow himself - a real one?

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"A Basket Short" by Avenge the Canary Cat's Mother - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Funny to see TWO entries using the "monochrome except red" thing. The sulk at the end is great, but the video gives a bit of a mood whiplash. The first two shots are still sort of amusing in an "aw, buddy, try again" way, and then it's just "Well... crap." But hey, nice one all the same!

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"" by BeastModeproductions - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

It'd be easier to get the joke if we could actually get a better look at what that letter says - but it's a little hard to see, and thus the joke is lost. Maybe try a marker rather than pencil. Otherwise, its nice to see the "Valentines Card from Hell" idea.

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"VDH: Secret Admirer " by JustRyce - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Hah, not a bad idea really - but what was with the random stuff at the end? Removing that and having the middle shot actually be 7 seconds long rather than 5 could've made the difference between light and middleweight here, I feel.
Props to whoever played the creep - his eyes are very expressive in that last shot!

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"Crappy Valentines Day" by AllYouCanStomach - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Theres nothing wrong with a poem reading for a Valentine's haiku - actually, I think that was a good idea. But we can barely hear him say anything at all, and the three shoots seem to really just be one long one with some quick edits. Some differing angles, better sound and a more fitting location would've made a world of difference. Still, cool that you're the only ones who tried for the poem thing.

Cancel
Avatar HorribleHorror
"A Basket Short" by Avenge the Canary Cat's Mother - Reviewed on February 20th, 2012

Wait. Pants?

Well, now I feel like an idiot, I somehow missed that completely!

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "May The 5th Be With You"

by The Phantom Monk

Genre: Haiku

GroupVotes
The Phantom Monk9
Film Club5
PVTVANDFILM2

May The 5th Be With You

by The Phantom Monk

Cinco De Mayo Star Wars style!!!

3,944 views
0 reviews
9 votes

Smack Talk!

"Thanks everyone that voted and to the other entrants for an awesome fight."

Avatar ThePhantomMonk
UK
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due May 30
03:00 max

Short Docs: Vlog

Genre: Vlog

Rules: We want to know who you are! Take us through a day in the life of you. To verify this is shot specifically for Film Fights, make sure to mention Film Fights somewhere throughout your day.

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Dancing Mom

This dancing mom steals the hearts and minds of America (and the world).

Thumb If You Search Woman

Five Clover Films presents "If You Search Woman". Special thanks to Pete Condit...

Thumb The VAIDS

A routine checkup at the Monster Hospital turns tragic for a young vampire.