Reviews
AKLPhilo's Reviews for "Video Haiku Part Two!"
Return to the "Video Haiku Part Two!" fight page
AKLPhilo has left 16 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar AKLPhilo
"March of the Hamster" by One Trick Pony - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Cool use of music for the hamster's march (or roll) to the toilet. Second shot sounded like there was a little bit of an audio hiss. And the final shot looked a little washed out on my computer, but maybe that was intentional? Still definitely a cool approach to the haiku format.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Canker 10" by Revolution Films - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

This was funny and different, wasn’t probably going to win here this week but I’m guessing you’re OK with that.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Hidden" by jad - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Yeah, sorry, some interesting shots, but I didn’t know what exactly I was looking for.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Mountain Lions" by Irrational Films - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Cool idea, but almost too many cuts going on to break up the action. And the lion as a picture and sound effect kind of ruin the buildup. Maybe do something like the lion being unseen, like “Evil Dead”, might have worked a little better here.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"You" by VileKyle - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Kind of a bleak message, didn’t quite understand why the characters changed from one person to another. Voiceover was an interesting change of pace.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Impermanence" by samsarai - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

One of the better ones this week. Did you just watch the premiere of "LOST" and decide that you wanted to run the words backwards like Walt? :) Cool into as well, I'd really like to know how you did your opening titles. Also, was this something you filmed or stock footage? I'd definitely like to know more.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Caught" by Five Clover Films - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Yeah, this one's mine. :)

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Sin" by Dan Rigdon - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

An interesting “ode” to Sin City, but there wasn’t a voiceover or some text so we could better understand what the character is going through, so I wasn’t sure quite what to think. Some background information would definitely help out here. Cool first shot.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Cereal" by RetardedCrap - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Sorry, it felt like you just weren’t really trying here. Wasn't really funny.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Satan Duck" by Dont Ask - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Cool idea about the "Satan Duck", especially the stop motion animation "stopping" when the duck gets run over by the car and the heavy metal music. The problem is that your voiceover is too jarring and it takes you out of the film, with some tweaking in your editing software, it can better blend the voice into the film.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Security" by Synaptic TV - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Yeah I'm sorry, I just didn't get this one at all. Didn't really follow the rules. No voiceover or text overlay. Cool TV zoom logo at the end though.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Tequila" by Off-Red Eye Productions - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Your voiceover on the music was very good here as compared to some other examples. I didn't like the second shot of the puking, not because it grossed me out but it felt like the camera was too far away from the subject, could have been closer and more "in your face" to feel how the character is feeling after drinking tequila. Overall good job on staying on the rules for the haiku.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Wake Up" by irenicmaelstromproductions - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

This one had a similar feel to mine by using text overlays for the haiku. Interesting idea, I think you just needed some work on the lighting, like in the third shot. For the second shot, the hand seems to kind of appear as a cut to the alarm clock instead of a solid move in.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"As Always, Your Love Kevin Mosley" by Lifeinacave Films - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Liked the song, it fit within the whole feel of what you were trying to do. You had the three shots but didn’t follow the haiku format, but hey that’s OK, I think this one was the best of the lightweights.

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"Haiku 2" by Reentry - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Cool creative song to announce your comeback. Liked the movement of the camera, definitely gave it a music video feel. But you didn't exactly stick to the rules of the haiku contest :)

Cancel
Avatar AKLPhilo
"CPP-Haiku2" by CPP - Reviewed on September 25th, 2005

Yeah, didn’t really get this one, beyond he tried to make a move on the girl and then she broke up with him. But without any voice over or haiku text, again it’s hard to figure out exactly what we’re supposed to feel here.

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "With This Ring"

by The Phantom Monk

Genre: Any

GroupVotes
The Phantom Monk20
WolfShadow Productions8

With This Ring

by The Phantom Monk

At the end of the world love needs a helping hand!

6,859 views
1 reviews
20 votes

Smack Talk!

"Thanks everyone who voted and to the other entries for a good fight, you're all awesome!!!"

Avatar ThePhantomMonk
UK
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due September 22
02:00 max

Back to Square One

Genre: Any

Rules: It's time for your main character to start over. Is he/she starting over from a bad marriage, a new job, or maybe they just lost all their lives on the video game they've been playing.

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Reversed Action

I know the cute girls are the real reason we won... I have to thank Shane, wh...

Thumb The Suitcase

So, we both had election day off work, so we took a road trip and came up with t...

Thumb As Time Flutters By

This is our rendition of a sopa opera. Over dramatic characters. Complex and con...