Reviews
Justin's Reviews for "Gas Station Haiku"
Return to the "Gas Station Haiku" fight page
Justin has left 9 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar Justin
"Gas Station Mugging" by Poorly Animated Cartoon Violence - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Animation! Yes! You kind of remind me of my friend who does a site called Sick Animation. Wish there was some more shot variety in here, but I get that animation is tricky!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Gas Station Haiku" by Kody Valdez's Amateur Videos - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Hey Kody! I really like that first shot. Almost feels kind of first person, which is cool. Think that the 2nd and third shots could have been more artfully done - maybe start with a super close up of him drinking the drink, then move back to reveal the whole scene - try to use the full 7 seconds to give us a bit of a reveal and more camera motion. Same with the third scene. Thanks for submitting!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Gas Pains" by TriFlix Films - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

The gas station burning really is a nice effect! I know you sort of hint at a story in your info, but it's not quite a enough that comes through in the actual video. The station on fire would be a great 3rd shot, but using it for both the 2nd and 3rd seems wasteful - would be a great capper for something that has more depth to it. Thanks for the submission though, as always!

Avatar TriFlix FIlms
Replied on March 18th, 2017

I couldn't agree with you more. I believe it was Niko or Wren from Corridor that said when using vfx it's best to only reveal them when needed. Using them constantly causes them to losee their 'wow' factor. Great advice! This was my first entry submitted on time hahaha. Glad to make it to the heavyweights.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Turn Of Events- Haiku" by 8Bits Of Fun - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Ha! Ok, a little rough, seems like the timing was off a bit on some of these shots - adding some music would have helped to fill it in a lot. Audio isn't bad in general, but seems like something you could ADR and it wouldn't hurt too much. More of a closeup on his face at the end would help sell the reaction better too. Thanks for the submission! Acting was funny!

Avatar Calum Barclay
Replied on March 15th, 2017

Thank you for the feedback! Will definitely take all this into account with future films, we'll keep submitting!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"The Pump" by Spanish Springs- C3 Media - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

HA! This is pretty great. I love that you get a lot out of your three shots. Love the performances and the characters here. Both dudes are pretty funny. the "Pizza Hut" logo in the background is a little distracting, but hey - what can ya do, ha.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"That Pump is Mine!" by AAV - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Intense music! What's with the word bubbles? Pretty funny. I'd try using your camera on a tripod or something - sometimes with worse cameras, good lighting and a tripod can help a lot. Also, don't be afraid to get closer - after we see the shot of the hands, would have been nice to pan up to see their faces, locked in an intense battle. Thanks for the submission!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Gas Station Struggles" by AAV - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Ha, maybe a voice over would have been funny here? Get inside the guy's head a little more? Looks like maybe there's a render error on this video? Thanks for submitting! funny performance

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Gas Station BFs" by Idiots w/Cats - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Haha, OK - you're doing something weird with the camera - why not put it sideways? You're using too many shots for a video haiku as we have it technically here- BUT I love your group name and I LOVE your attitude!!! Put that camera sideways and keep submitting!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Earth Station" by SEHS Vid Tech - Reviewed on March 13th, 2017

Too many shots on this one! Have to keep it to only 3 shots!

Avatar SEHS
Replied on March 20th, 2017

yeah, we didn't read the rules. Next time, though

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "Gas Pains"

by TriFlix Films

Genre: Video Haiku

GroupVotes
TriFlix Films19
Poorly Animated Cartoon Violence5
Kody Valdez's Amateur Videos2

Gas Pains

by TriFlix Films

Did the man started the fire or did he just want to fill up his tank of gas? I'll leave that up t...

4,678 views
3 reviews
19 votes

Smack Talk!

""

Avatar
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due April 3
01:00 max

The Last Cup of Coffee

Genre: Dramatic

Rules: An epic race to get the last cup of coffee ensues between your two characters. What obstacles will they have to overcome to get that wonderful last cup of joe?!?!?!

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb Cradle

fudge

Thumb The Guardian

The film is based off an old short for a Cable Access show called Shonklers.

Thumb infomersnail

An animation dedicated to the desperate lives of runaway fugitive snails. We kno...