Thumb
Reviews for:
Beach Bum Pictures, "Inevitable Conclusion"
< Return to the "Lower Your Voice" fight page.
 
AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 2nd, 2009

First of all - watch your aspect ratios! (I'm going in to fix them now ... but you rendered at 720x480 and used "Widescreen DV" which is kind of like fake widescreen and confuses the encoder and adds bars to the side - so remember to do 640x360 next time!)

Anyway, enough encoding nerd ranting. You keep saying "ok ok, no _____" but I'm not sure what you're saying. "Cock"? "Shit"? Would be best to see a shot of your face close up so we at least know what you're getting bleeped for. I like the line "we've been doing this for 5 years...!" haha.

I LOVE her drawings!!! That alone made me HW this ... that plus the badass castle. Anytime you can use location to your advantage you gotta do it! Dunno about that reveal shot of the knight though, kinda sloppy - would be best if it just kept walking back to reveal instead of that turn.

"Bring on the ____" ?? Still not sure what you're saying, ha. Maybe I'm just dense. Enlighten me in the comments!

AvatarBryant
Reviewed on October 3rd, 2009

Yeah, the wifey can draw pretty well. It's awesome.

AvatarHLR II
Reviewed on October 3rd, 2009

I have never written a storyboard ever. Like the "something I can finally show my parents" It's funny cause you know when people are putting together a video they don't set down time to really think about it.. (maybe they do) It's funny how honestly you portrayed that. You're good at drawing. Shot in another country?!??! I thought this was a pretty solid 2:24, good effort. It made me giggle frequently.

AvatarBryant
Reviewed on October 3rd, 2009

Yeah, we are currently living in the U.K. South coast of England. Very nice area. Thanks for the nice comments, and yes, we were saying "cock". We just really did want something we could show our family.

Avatarloveislbind2all
Reviewed on October 4th, 2009

Yay! Beach Bum Productions! Haha! there were a bunch of things that made me laugh like the story boards and the actor covered in tin foil. It\'s awesome to have you guys back! P.s. I think I know where we can find a 9 food c*ck if you guys ever need it. ;-)

Avatartherev
Reviewed on October 5th, 2009

Beach bum! I was soo pumped when I seen you guys submitted a movie. Weren\'t we supposed to PaF at sometime? The acting is good. The shots look good. No ****. I like the transition to the knight. hahhaa, love the \"Bring on the ****\"

Avatarkennyo219
Reviewed on October 5th, 2009

Since I didn\'t get my shit together to submit anything, I can\'t really criticize anyone, but I felt like this would have benefitted from a little music, particularly during the \"on set\" scenes near the end.

AvatarAKLPhilo
Reviewed on October 6th, 2009

Yeah when I put storyboards together, they\'re usually of the stick figure variety myself, so I can relate. :) Some funny moments, but I think that you guys would still benefit from getting a boom mic in some of the shots to better hear what\'s going on

AvatarJeremy
Reviewed on October 6th, 2009

I just realized I didn;t review this, yet, even though I have watched it like 5 times! Yeha, a lot of FAST don\'t show their parents out movies, either. Haha. I can totally relate. Great to see you back in action, Bryant. This was a very funny entry.

AvatarBryan Fox
Reviewed on October 17th, 2009

Review show is up: http://vimeo.com/7118727

AvatarGriffin
Reviewed on October 23rd, 2009

For some reason I really appreciated storytelling this fight, as a lot of us, myself included, kind of avoided standard narratives. That's what I liked most about the video. I'd be curious to know if you storyboarded the storyboarding. It seems like you put thought into your shots, so I have a few suggestions. The first two shots are both wide shots, pointing the same direction - at the window. It's not a jump cut because they're different enough, but visually, I feel like you could plan out the sequence better to keep your audience oriented, and to come across as more deliberate with your camera placement. Likewise, the dialogue between you two offers the perfect opportunity for two equally framed, but opposite shots. But Erica's is more of a close-up, and Bryant's is more of a medium shot, with not enough look room. I think the over-the-shoulder shot of Bryant storyboarding is a great way to orient the audience, but when you do the same shot for Erica, we can't immediately tell it's her, because not enough of her is in the shot, and I'd put the camera over her other shoulder to better mirror the previous shot.

Make a video for our next film fight
MINI-FIGHT
Due on April 28
9 days, 14 hours left
Title:

Talking Heads

Genre:Any
Time:1:00
Rules:In this movie, all we ever see is the actor's head, sort of like a puppet show, but with just heads.

Submit Your Film View More Fights

FFTV
RECENT VIDEO CONTESTS
Over The Nation 'Bench Press' Video Challenge
How much can you bench press?
Great American Optician Video Contest
What do opticians do?
Poptent 'International Demo Reel - Apr' Assignment
Poptent is looking for YOU, the international filmmaker!
BAND-AID 'Sticking By Our Vets' Video Project
Support a non-profit that's supporting our vets.
'Is It Worth It?' Video Contest
Promote safe driving to teens in Canada.
V