Thumb
Reviews for:
Glossy Finish Pictures, "Unraveled"
< Return to the "Horror Haiku" fight page.
 
AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Glossy!!! Your big unveiling at film fights! Congrats on the HW. Love the acting in this. Your audio is tremendously loud but that may add to the humor. Loud loud mummy. I think you spelled 'unraveled' wrong.

I think this could have used some POV shots from the mummy, so we can really see just how frustrating trying to pick up the coffee is. Would make it more sympathetic to the poor guy.

Love the acting from the sneeze guy. Great fake sneeze, and he had good comedy timing / facial expressions. Though he DOES smile at the end, which kinda ruins that moment, ha. Just noticed that.

You should be sure to turn off 'auto iris' on your camera as well, if possible. You can see how the exposure keeps changing since the mummy is so white. Looks funky / unprofessional.

Would have added some ambient noise behind the shot of the TP stuck in the door. Maybe the mummy going "Grrrr!"

I hope you really yelled FUUUCKKKKK that loud in the supermarket, ha!

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Ha, this gave me a good laugh. Though I did kind of get tired of (yes, you can get tired of something after 30 seconds) of him saying "FUCK", you couldn't have come up with any other word for him to curse haha? Overall a fun enjoyable video.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Why did you leave this review as a reply, weirdo!

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Cause I wasn't paying attention!

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

Well, you should re-post it as a normal review so people can see it on the front page!

AvatarAlasdair
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

angry mummy is hilarious. maybe hes so cranky because hes been in a pyramid for 2000 years?? in the last scene you can see the actors red shirt under the tp. good solid entry i voted for it!! the only technical issue is that the shot of the bandages caught in the car door should have been flipped horizontally to match up with the direction the mummy was running

Avataralvirnexc
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

hey thanks! that red shirt taught me a lesson: always have your actors come to the shoot naked.

AvatarJeremy
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

This was the perfect example of a really great idea with funny moments and decent acting that was slightly spoiled by some easily fixed, but highly distracting technical issues. I am guessing that whoever edited this is kind of new to editing or the program they were using and will improve after cutting a few movies. I will give some specific examples. The restaurant is so noisy it hits you right in the face as soon as the soothing music from the opening graphics end. Starting the restaurant audio from the beginning might have been a preferable way to approach it. that's more preference, than anything, though. Again, cutting to the outside scene, we have a very harsh audio cut that could have been softened with a transition. I think I will start a thread about audio transitions in the forums to better illustrate what I am talking about. And again when he is back in the restaurant or whenever he is now when the guy is talking on the cell phone. The worst comes when the tp gets stuck in the door. Not only does the background noise go from loud, to quite, to loud (am am guessing lots of traffic), there is also someone's voice who gets cut off abruptly. The cut to the door was a little long, as well. And one more time when you cut to the exposed mummy tummy. If you aren't sure what audio transition are, or more likely not sure how to do them, I am planning on starting a thread in the forums where people can share their ideas and strategies for dealing with them. Hope you didn't mind me picking it apart a little. It was a really funny movie that was deserving of my time. I really think you could have some great entries if you just step your game up bit.

Avataralvirnexc
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

my audio is indeed horrendous, i recognize its an area where i need improvement. I really look forward to a thread about audio transitions and cleanups. Im gald you reviewed, thanks.

AvatarTheCoveShorts
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

good stuff... like the multiple fail idea. The kid sneezing was good, the other ideas could have been more creative or funny though. Also work on the sound, a scream that loud is gonna annoy some people rather then make em laugh, and the shots needed audio transitions. overall i liked it, nice job!

AvatarOutlawPictures
Reviewed on October 27th, 2009

Haha glad to see a Mummy vid! Everyone loves fuckin vampires! If i enter in this contest I'm going the mummy route and you def get those frustrations. Shit ain't easy wearing toilet paper all the damn time.

AvatarDavidSegerAOK
Reviewed on October 28th, 2009

When the Mummy said "FUCK" after being called a douche... that was my favorite joke of all the heavyweight films. This is a tough call. I liked this a whole lot and the Vampire Period one. Tough choice. I'm gonna have to pace around the room for a bit.

AvatarHLR II
Reviewed on October 29th, 2009

OK - first off -- best job at fitting every single thing in that you can - and perserving your comedic timing. seriously!! THe acting was good and i am glad your mummy went all out!!

One thing you REALLY REALLY REALLY need to work on (me as well) is audio "equalization" in shots. Fade in and out on your audio - - and the yelling is distorted every once in awhile. It is really harsh in between cuts (especially when changing location). Once again, I was very impressed with fitting in as much as possible.

AvatarDTVPRESENTS
Reviewed on August 26th, 2010

timing is everything for being funny..and ur timing was spot on..lil loud but thats my only complaint..everything else..awesome job!

Make a video for our next film fight
MINI-FIGHT
Due on November 3
12 days, 21 hours left
Title:

Short Docs 2

Genre:Documentary
Time:2:00
Rules:Back by popular demand! Make a short documentary on any subject, this year you get an extra minute!

Submit Your Film View More Fights

FFTV
RECENT VIDEO CONTESTS
Num Num October 2014 Video Contest
The topic is money. The rest is up to you.
Qualcomm Snapdragon 4K Video Contest
Make a film using Qualcomm Snapdragon 4K technology.
Tongal 'Swede A Music Video' Project
Make a hilarious sweded version of your fave music vid.
#DisruptTheDefault 2015 Video Contest
How can women and men reach their full potential in the workplace?
Mozayic 'Cool Cat' Video Contest
Make a video that will appeal to cat lovers.
V