Thumb
Reviews for:
Sometimes Funny, "The VAIDS"
< Return to the "Holiday Haiku" fight page.
 
AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

This was Mike and Is film! Mike wrote a funny script. Was super super happy with the shoot on this. Kari is great as the doctor - Mike is perfectly sickly for a vampire, haha. We shot this partially at Next New Networks for the waiting room scene, and partially at Mike's apartment (wish we had a plastic sheet to put in front of the kitchen, oh well).

Should have applied the makeup more evenly too. The shot at the end was a 'blooper' but Mike looked so happy and creepy, and it's such a goofy expression I felt it added to it.

Lit the whole thing with just random lamps, I didn't do any color correction on this, though maybe I should have. I liked the 'realistic' fly on the wall sort of feel and the footage right out of the camera looked fine to me.

Mike's fangs kept drooling all over Kari's hair, ha!

Anyway, VOTE FOR US! Or else.

AvatarGriffin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

Glad you threw in that last shot. It's what sold me on the whole video.

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Hey we made this one! Remember that Justin? Good times. One thing that makes me sad is you can't read the poster in the background, which may have been my favorite part of the film haha. It reads "So you were bitten by a werewolf...WHAT NEXT?"

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

You can see it in one shot on the vimeo HD version ... but yeah i love throwing cute stuff like that in there

AvatarJeremy
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

I would have liked to see that poster in it, as well (or maybe its in it, but you cant read it). I think that would have added something good to it.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 31st, 2009

You can read it in HD in vimeo

AvatarEmmerek
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Really funny and perfect timin at the end with the bite, good videos end with a laugh. the makeup could have covered more. Good job

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 24th, 2009

Totally agree - we should have covered Mike a lot better in that stuff!

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

Also had a shot with more blood on his mouth / teeth

Avatarfruityflutefilms
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

that was really funny!
his expression when he got diagnosed was hilarious!
Really great idea!

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

Thank ya! (I'll take REALLY funny over SOMETIMES funny any day!)

AvatarJason
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

I so wish this was the plot of twilight. I love Sometimes funny, When Mike and Justin get together it's like a massive comedic explosion. They never fail to dissappoint!

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

That's what she said!

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

Mike is always failing. (that's also what she said)

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

also I should mention that Mike almost named the group 'grand failures' - which I actually like better than S.F. but whatevs. too late now

Avatarolivier
Reviewed on October 25th, 2009

Oh yeah, really funny with high quality acting, pacing and sound. Surprisingly I didn't see the end coming. My favorite.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

Glad we could SHOCK YOU!

AvatarAlasdair
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

the concept of vampires getting AIDS is funny! I was originally gonna do something with it but I think it's a bit too obvious. you gotta be careful about whose blood you suck these days!! nonetheless i think the presentation was very good, i really enjoyed the dark dingy feel. the corpse in the waiting room was hilarious.

AvatarJeremy
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

HA, VAIDS. Nice. Very good joke for the time limit. Mike's acting was great. Only criticisms would be the audio difference between shots seemed very harsh. I would have liked some light fake hospital noises in the room or less in the lobby. I realize the room would be less noisy, but not so much less. The lighting in the room was a little spotlight-ish. Aside from those couple things, technically very awesome and definitely very funny.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

Mmm, I liked the noisy lobby area. I think that an actual hospital room would be pretty quiet, from what I've experienced. I think one thing I could have done maybe to fix is -- is to have it louder and then add a 'door closing' sound and after that the ambient would go away. I didn't want to distract from the dialogue either.

AvatarJeremy
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

You probably just go to nicer hospitals. HAHA. You may be right, the only thing that threw me off was the harsh difference.

Avataralffarr
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

That was pretty hilarious. Mike's acting when he got the bad news was pretty spot on, and of course 'VAIDS' is pretty funny in and of it's self. And the twist at the end! Oh, that delightful vampire bastard.

Avataralvirnexc
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

I REALLY liked this. The makeup, the acting, the lighting, it was all great. You took a great idea and made a solid video. Everyone Ive shown this to is blown away by it. Pat yourselves on the back gents, this is where its at.

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

Thanks a lot man! Now just tell everyone you know to vote for it haha

AvatarTheCoveShorts
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

hahaha the best part is how the vampire says "vampire aids." Good idea, good production, GREAT acting from both people. Only thing i didnt like was the flow of the first 3 shots. Maybe it would have flowed better if those 3 shots were on a tripod and the sound was taken out. (maybe with cheesy waiting room music). Overall very good! Best costume and acting by far.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

Oooh, waiting room music is a really good idea. I may modify our Vimeo version with that.

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 26th, 2009

I agree to this idea!

AvatarOutlawPictures
Reviewed on October 27th, 2009

Haha really nice footage. The shots look particularly nice, great lighting, everything looks really good. I love the acting too, good dialogue from vamp and the doctor is very believable. I love her last line too, like she's more annoyed than pissed.

My favorite thing about this though has to be one of the beginning shots when the vamp is in the waiting room with a skeleton haha. Monster Hospital?

AvatarOutlawPictures
Reviewed on October 27th, 2009

Also, very nicely enunciated dialogue from the vamp. That is a tough thing to accomplish with fangs. Don't know how you did this whether it was ADR or not. But I noticed many other entries just over dubbed people talking with their mouth's unobstructed, I like whatever you did. Very nice done. Commendable for the vamp actor lol.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 27th, 2009

We did do ADR for most of the lines, but Mike still had the teeth in when we recorded. Good job mike!

AvatarJames
Reviewed on October 27th, 2009

One of your guys' best videos. I love the ending, it gets me every time I re watch. The audio doesn't bother me as much as some of the others here, I only feel that it's kinda distracting when we cut from the waiting room to the room with the doctor. Other than that the whole thing felt pretty smooth. Good job!

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 28th, 2009

Thanks James! I think I'm gonna tweak that audio a bit since ppl seem to be reacting to it negatively

Avatarrlatham
Reviewed on October 27th, 2009

Hahah awesome. Short and sweet, by far the best part of the movie was Mike saying...."Vampire Aids?" Great quality and short enough to entertain the most hardcore of add children.

AvatarJustin
Reviewed on October 28th, 2009

If the ADDers are happy, I'm happy

AvatarDavidSegerAOK
Reviewed on October 28th, 2009

I love a good AIDS joke.

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on October 28th, 2009

I love a good Dave Seger

AvatarHLR II
Reviewed on October 29th, 2009

Mike is a good actor. (you obviously know that) I like the idea of a villain having to go to the hospital to find out what is wrong -- and then thought he has the VAIDS -- he stilll lures in his victim with depression and a hug. The "I tried to be careful" - lol. nothing technical really bothered me -- i love that you used the cheap halloween costume stuff - I used a $2 pacakage from walmart and ended up turning it black in white to make it look better.

AvatarRough Cout Boston
Reviewed on November 23rd, 2009

Hilarious...bottom line

Make a video for our next film fight
MINI-FIGHT
Due on December 29
8 days, 18 hours left
Title:

Happy New Year!

Genre:Any
Time:1:00
Rules:"Auld Lang Syne" is traditionally sung at the conclusion of New Year gatherings, (Should Old Acquaintance be forgot...). Somewhere in your film the song most be sung, heard, played, etc.

Submit Your Film View More Fights

FFTV
RECENT VIDEO CONTESTS
HP Dual SIM Vine Project
HP is looking for funny Vine Videos about their Dual SIM smartphones.
Tip Top English Muffins Video Contest
Help mum express her creativity with English Muffins and music.
Academy Awards 'Team Oscar' 2015 Video Competition
Are you ready to represent the future of film on the Oscars stage?
Sydney 2015: Castrol EDGE Video Contest
When the time comes, be TITANIUM STRONG.
'Ethics in Action' 2015 Viral Video Competition
Are you passionate about promoting ethics in business?
V