Thumb
Reviews for:
Immortal Dog Productions, "Operation: Kick Ass"
< Return to the "Pinky Ring" fight page.
 
AvatarJustin
Reviewed on April 14th, 2010

YES! The original victors of Film Fights ... all these years later - ain't the internet crazy? First shot is AWESOME. Love it. Audio work on this is great as usual. Not sure what I think about the "Stabbing" sound when he kicks his ass. Maybe a more solid THUMP with a splattish kind of thing could have worked better.

The opening dialogue is great too. Not sure I like the shot when the guy actually gets kicked. Which I saw a long shot from the side to set up the perspective and the distance between the two - would also underscore just how silly it is. I get the long shot at the end, but even then I don't have the best idea of the space as a whole.

But yeah, pretty effing cool! Might feature this one on FFtv!

AvatarSometimes Mike
Reviewed on April 14th, 2010

Hilarious you guys. The ending little 'dialog' thing I didn't really like, I'm not really a fan of the cartoony type stuff (unless it's in a cartoon), it's funny enough to just have him being kicked to snak. But your intro-intensity, HILARIOUS. I disagree with Justin on the reveal shot of the guy being awkward, I thought it great, and Justin is stupid. I was lucky enough to be given a sneak peak by Chad a few days ago, and I gotta say I watched it over and over again.

This film is a great choice for being shown in FFTV, as it's very INSTANTLY accessible, and has wide audience appeal with it's humor.

AvatarBalls
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Awesome guys! As the reaction from the kicked one. A bit deaf when it's convenient, but... Seems you had no back story, and the end is by mistake another genre. But I don't care, what's good is not good, it's perfect. Also love the location.

AvatarCompaneros
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Great use of location, sound, and colour correction. "Was that your shoe?" Hilarious because it's a sandal!

Avatarniels241
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Haha, great! The sound effects really finish it!
Great voice over too :-D

AvatarJesseGilbertFilms
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

everything about this is hilarious.

AvatarThe Chad
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Thank you!

Avatarrussellrules
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

I thank you also!

Avatarcakebakejake
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

I love the idea of 2 guys like playing army and just kicking some innocent bystander. However, this is in the middle of a field, so why is there just some guy there? I would have enjoyed it more if it took place on a street or in a cafe or something. HATE (really hate) the title card at the end. You don't need to drop your film group name for 7 of 30 seconds (or at all). But overall, kinda funny.

AvatarLACKofinterest
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Haha that was hilarious guys! I love the poster picture, very cool. "I have dirt in my mouth...", made me crack up. Good acting too. I really enjoyed it, keep it up.

Avatardave
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Haha I loved the backup out of nowhere

Great job!

Avatarknoptop
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

Good foley work. Great reaction shots/ acting. I didn't like the last scene. Though the victims' dialogue was humorous, I wanted to hear a last-liner from one of the kickers bringing it all together.

AvatarVishalSinghFilms
Reviewed on April 15th, 2010

This was great! You gotta love the intensity for this. Kicking asses is serious business!! I liked the ending dialog and all the foley, this piece is supposed to be funny, it's impossible to take seriously so I don't think it should try and take itself seriously either. Funny whining fits perfectly!

Avatarthemattcastro
Reviewed on April 16th, 2010

I must say - even though I am a HW as well, this is by far the best film for this competition.

Excellent quality, hilarious shots, and funny dialogue.

It is an honor to compete for the HW title with you.

Avatarthemattcastro
Reviewed on April 16th, 2010

PS - you guys got 800 views really quickly! i guess that's what you get when you make a good HW submission! haha

AvatarThe Chad
Reviewed on April 16th, 2010

Thank you very much!!!

AvatarVolatile Productions
Reviewed on April 17th, 2010

WOW!! The voiceover at the beginning is really well done and the first shot is surprisingly steady considering the cameraman was runnig right? I'd love to know what music you used for this! Great idea - great execution - great film!

AvatarThe Chad
Reviewed on April 17th, 2010

Thank you very much! I actually wasn't running with the camera. I was in the back of a '93 white Ford Bronco (the OJ Mobile!) with nothing to hold on to other than the Canon 7D we shot this on. I got slammed around pretty good trying to get that shot, but it was totally worth it. We shot this in an area that people go off-roading in so it was all really rough terrain. The music however... I'm not too sure. Russ (the other guy from Immortal Dog) edited this and has a couple programs that generate screen usable music, and I believe he used that.

AvatarArnold110
Reviewed on April 17th, 2010

Its pretty good :). It really random and real go army style its sick! It was funny and I did laugh at some points, but the dub of the man asking why they're doing this at the end goes unanswered and it looks awkward. No get me wrong, I loved it, but I don't like how there wasn't really a reason or plot for this happening... What did this poor, over-weight man done to deserve this form of treatment?

AvatarRoo
Reviewed on April 17th, 2010

Great! I love the opening shot moving from the feet up to the face with the W/T. I'm not sure why the man was standing where he was in the middle of nowhere. Having the backup just appear cheapened the initial run-in, but it still worked. The coda was the only part that was not so strong. I'd take the end visuals out and build a more exciting way for the backup asskicker to arrive, perhaps jetpack or parachute?

AvatarEmmerek
Reviewed on April 29th, 2010

I really like this everything is so nice and polished. I like the location too. When I watch this I think that the fat guy's car broke down and he's calling for help. There's not much of a plot here, but the kick is effective, very climactic. I feel like it drags on a little at the end though. This is great.

Make a video for our next film fight
MINI-FIGHT
Due on September 8
6 days, 16 hours left
Title:

"The Room" Haiku

Genre:Haiku
Time:0:17
Rules:Actor must say"You're tearing me apart Lisa!" like Tommy Wiseau. A video haiku is a 3 shot film. 1st shot is 5 sec, next shot is 7 sec, final shot is 5 seconds. SEE EXAMPLES HERE: http://bit.ly/s34Fmc

Submit Your Film View More Fights

FFTV
RECENT VIDEO CONTESTS
Show Us Your Funny: Comedy Shorts Film Competition
Share your funny short film.
Vids 4 Kids 'You're Not You' Video Contest
Promote a drug-free message.
Avant-Garde Showdown Short Film Competition
Submit your artistic and experimental shorts films.
Fourstar 'Wair to Spare' Edit Contest
Edit the given skate footage into something new & cool.
'Love My City' Video Contest
Share your love for your city!
V