Reviews
Justin's Reviews for "Everyone's Best"
Return to the "Everyone's Best" fight page
Justin has left 24 reviews this fight, have you added yours yet?
Avatar Justin
"Poopy Pants" by F.A.S.T.films - Reviewed on November 4th, 2005

Certainly an interesting submission. I like the subtitles and the odd 'old film' effect over the stop motion. The digital zoom in at the end is an interesting and odd choice.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Syrup Amok" by One Trick Pony - Reviewed on November 4th, 2005

This is my film ... not too much to say about it except my friend Kite is hilarious and I wish he was in more short films and didn't live in Lansing Michigan so we could hang out. Hopefully I'll see him again this Christmas, maybe we'll make a sequel.

The GMBMS guys made a spoof called Glue Amok which I felt was better than the original.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Popsykle 01: Fatality." by Saturnine Films - Reviewed on November 4th, 2005

Cool fighting game effects. I like the 70s zooms, always a huge fan of 70s zooms. So many films made for school and made against smoking. Nothing wrong with that. A funny idea that deadly fighting wouldn't kill the characters. I like the fade to the gradient white at the end with the WTF - goofy and fun.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Teasing Dreams" by Kevs Krazy Krap - Reviewed on November 4th, 2005

I really like white fades. They seem so much classier than black fades. Like an airline commercial or something.

This film is an example of why I'm not a huge 'music video' fan. It wasn't that bad considering, but it still feels like a bunch of kind of random / boring filler to match the length of the song itself. I can't believe all the hair you've got kid, that's crazy!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Rice Eating" by SFD Productions - Reviewed on November 4th, 2005

Oh boy, everyone loves the 'shine' filter!

A video blog is an interesting choice, perhaps the only thing you had under 2 minutes? That fast driving makes me kind of nervous. I've always been afraid of dying in a car crash. And drowning, some kind of combination of a car crash and dying. Why? I'm not sure. I think it may have something to do with a past life.

The little 'fast forward' sequence was cool if you added that in later.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Greg's Milkshake" by Bamfer Productions - Reviewed on November 4th, 2005

Very very random, but pretty funny. The badly skewed picture of Richard Simmons makes me giggle inside.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"" by - Reviewed on November 8th, 2005

I caught some of Alnie's movies off of Dan Irrational's website. His style reminds me a lot of Amir.

I like how you used a freeze frame for a couple of the "uhh" shots. Is the music from an actual cheesy 80s thing like this? It fits in perfectly. All the zany transitions and whatnot are great too. Slick pink hat ... I have to respect the pink hat.

Adding in the Jesus card at the end - fantastic. I dig your style Alnie!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"History of On Rye" by On Rye Ltd. - Reviewed on November 8th, 2005

Ah, how I love On Rye!

Steve looks awesome in that ... hat ... thing ... great VO by Jake. Talkkkkiessss. I laughed at "Jake Shaved." A short cute film. I especially like that little house on fire. It's so cheesy it's awesome.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Torsos For Tots" by RetardedCrap - Reviewed on November 8th, 2005

Sound glitches make black baby jesus cry :(

I'm sure it was some kind of tape-related disaster, but it wouldn't have been too hard to just dub over short sections to fix that problem and save the movie.

Why don't you guys use some cuts or anything like that? It's a funny idea, but it's just so plain and very badly shot. The camera should be lower on the dude, it just looks awkward.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Living with Dan Levitch 1" by Chubby Commie - Reviewed on November 8th, 2005

I like the feel of this movie - it has a very light, funny uplifting vibe to it. That makes the super-crazy ninja attack at the end even more enjoyable. It's just so random and out of the blue. I wish the dudes weren't smiling when they killed each other though - go from that happiness to the harsh reality of ninja death.

I think it works a little better in the lightweight sense than heavyweight ... but it was certainly on the cusp on being higher.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Lemonade Stand" by Evil Primate Collective - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

Carboni you make some good movies. Great premise and I love that you got actors who fit the part. I wish the dude was putting batteries in the sock instead of change, since socks with batteries are pretty funny. A more sickening smack when he hits the girl would have been nice.

My only problem is I wish the madness escalated after the woman runs up. Like she calls the cops and all the cops want to do it drink the lemonade. Or the cops knock both the dude and the woman out and then take over the stand. Maybe it could just keep going on and on with more and more people taking the stand over and more and more bodies piling up in the background.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"the scary movie" by hbtvideos - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

Good lighting in this ... the OH MY GOD scream is silly in a good way. I'd consider starting the scary music a little earlier after that cut though. The sneak-peek at the dead body in the shower is a great way of doing it. Then it's creepy and you're not exactly sure what you saw. I like this video. Nice music at the end too.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Random" by Fonklemewinkles - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

I randomly saw this on the putfile.com forums. I guess you can't say too much ... the quality of the video and the camera looks decent, actually, but that zuzzing sound hurts my brain.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Moo-Shoo" by The Anti Logic - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

SOOOO Catchy. That's the great thing about this. It's stupid, and it's random, but that song get sooo stuck in your head you just can't escape it. The ending is a little weak but the song itself is worth many repeats.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
""Dont Smoke" PSA" by Just Jive - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

The voices are a little odd ... I don't like when the same person does all the VO and just slows it down or speeds it up to make it sound like a different person.

The animation reminds me ... Doug or something. Something with the hair. Anyway, not bad for a school project. But ... yanno, it's a school project.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
""Little Bit Closer" Music Video" by Invert Films - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

What a GREAT music video! Beautifully shot, beautifully edited - you did a fucking stellar job on this. The zoom-fades are particularily nice. I need to get me one of those damn cameras. The digital zooms are also a fun effect. Very well planned out, I'm sure you storyboarded the whole thing. One of the best things I've seen featured on the site. Great example of a music video that DOESN'T suck. You've got a bright future!

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Efficiency Trailer" by Irrational Films - Reviewed on November 11th, 2005

Great music for this one ... great use of the sound effects and stuff. My only problem is that the dialogue should be a lot higher. I suppose you shot this a while ago and can't re-do that, but it's rather distracting.

It's got a wonderful film vibe to it and I ESSPPEEccially like the blue lighting shot at the end.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Signs" by 3East - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

Haha, that opening line is so awesome. Dog owners and the handicapped. Very good concept here. It goes a little long, but I feel not too long. The voice over audio sounds good, and the footage looks nice. Maybe some other things besides zooming in on the signs would have been nice, get a little more creative with the shots.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Ninja Rap" by Barats and Bereta Productions - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

You guys and your musical entries!!! I love it. The classic anime sword slicing is key. Was this made for some kind of contest for Real Ultimate Power? It's always cool to see where people started and where they're at now. My older stuff is all awful, so this is a million times better than anything I pulled off back in the day.

Love the 'ninja cam.'

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"" by - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

Yeah, that was pretty much a random waste of time. Bad lighting, dumb. Pointless. Jumping around in slow motion looks like it could have been fun to do though, so hopefully you got a kick outta it! Too lazy to even enter in the time when submitting, eh? :(

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Comfortable Pits" by Off-Red Eye Productions - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

Kind of boring. Is this from a book or something? Or did you write this? Short and not very good.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Glib" by Five Clover Films - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

You can really tell this was shot on actual film. Cool shots inwards towards the statue. Reminds me a lot of an old slient film - did you use a Bolex or something with a crank? Great lighting throughout, that seems like a staple of your movies. It really is artsy with no meaning, but I like the style.

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Cigarette KILLS!" by Synaptic TV - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

Did you make the music yourself? Nice close up of the lighting. When you say "I don't know guys" it sounds like "It's pretty good" - hehe. Great blood spattering effect and the laugh at the end is funny. I like that film reel thing - is that stock footage?

Cancel
Avatar Justin
"Apple "Switch" ad" by Volks-Films - Reviewed on November 13th, 2005

I did some switch ads back in the day ... I don't think I've got them online anywhere currently. The hardest part was getting the music. I had to take like all the switch ads and manually cut them up so I had the music from the parts when everyone wasn't talking. Altogether it almost added up to a whole track.

I can barely hear what you're saying in this and you should have upped the lighting or equalized the color or something so it actually looked white and not yellow. The sound is so awful, it makes me cry.

I wish my name was bling bling.

Cancel
Last Fight's Winner
Video "Kill That Bill!"

by Rodolfo Gutierrez

Genre: Any

GroupVotes
Rodolfo Gutierrez6
Mad Yak Media2

Kill That Bill!

by Rodolfo Gutierrez

Pocket change wants humans to be forgotten about, instead of the other way around.

7,733 views
0 reviews
6 votes

Smack Talk!

""

Avatar
Next Months' Fight
Video
Due December 24
00:17 max

The Grinch

Genre: Holiday

Rules: Use the title to inspire you, but make it as different as possible. Create a holiday film centered around a Grinch.

Submit yours View More
Film Fights Review Show
Hall Of Fame
Thumb The Halloween Party

A true rivalry never dies, especially when it's based on Halloween costumes.

Thumb Don't Move

An apartment broker is saddled with a shocking speech impediment. Will he finall...

Thumb Trick Or Treat

A Trick r treater who tries to get ahead of the rush bites off more than he can ...